Rebirth and reinvention

The experiment with an artistic career has been over for years, and that’s why this space has been idle. The idea of a professional blog is still valid, though, so here we go again.

One of the things I’ve seen over and over in the business is managers who really don’t understand their people and how to get the best out of them. I have a lot of ideas about how to fix that, and I plan to share those ideas here. (I’ve certainly made my share of mistakes, so you can expect to see me deconstruct my own disasters at least as often as I call other managers out for theirs.)

My goal is to help people do a better job of hiring, developing, motivating, and retaining great technical people. (To be honest, I believe that most of the things I’ve learned working with techies are generally applicable to working with anybody, but I only have direct evidence for what I’ve done myself.)

About George E. Mitchell

I've been working in the software industry since 1991. Over that time, I've learned a lot about technical people and had a good deal of success working with them and managing them. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/georgmi
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

